IND vs AUS HIGHLIGHTS: Head’s Ton Spoils India’s Grand Party; Australia Claim 6th World Cup

Australia clinched victory by six wickets in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final against India at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, securing their sixth title. This marked the second occasion when Australia defeated India in a World Cup final, with the first instance occurring in the 2003 Cricket World cup.

Opting to field first after winning the toss, Australia’s Pat Cummins led his team against Rohit Sharma’s men in blue. Rohit Sharma initiated a strong start for India, accumulating 30 runs in just four overs, taking charge against Josh Hazlewood. However, in the fifth over, Mitchell Starc dismissed Shubman Gill with a well-directed short ball. Despite Rohit Sharma’s continued aggression, Glenn Maxwell managed to dismiss him on 47 off a brisk 31 balls.

Following Rohit’s dismissal, Shreyas Iyer contributed a mere 4 runs before getting dismissed. While Virat Kohli (54 off 63) and KL Rahul (66 off 107) began rebuilding the Indian innings, the escalating pressure of a boundary drought led to Kohli’s dismissal by Aussie Captain Pat Cummins. Shortly after, KL Rahul also fell. India managed to add a few more runs with the lower order, concluding their innings at 240/10 in 50 overs.

Australia’s innings commenced shakily as David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, and Steve Smith fell early, leaving Australia at 47-3. However, opener Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne constructed a formidable 192-run partnership, with Travis Head getting out on 137 only after the team needed 2 runs for a win. Labuschagne remained unbeaten on 58 and came back only after steering Australia to victory and securing their sixth ICC 50-over World Cup trophy.

It is worth noting that Australia’s World Cup 2023 campaign started poorly after they faced two back-to-back defeats against India and South Africa. However, after that they managed to win 9 matches on the trot including the final in Ahmedabad to emerge as the champions.

Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment