Jasprit Bumrah’s well-disgiused slower delivery bamboozles Steve Smith | WATCH

Image Source : AP Indian team celebrates after Steve Smith’s wicket.

Jasprit Bumrah produced an outrageous slower delivery to claim the prized scalp of Australia’s premier batter Steven Smith to derail their run chase in the World Cup 2023 final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19 (Sunday).

Bumrah, who is known as one of the most brilliant exponents of the slower delivery produced an unplayable ball to catch Smith off guard and trap him in front of his stumps. The dismissal happened on the final delivery of the seventh over as Smith failed to read the change in pace and got beaten all ends up.

Watch the ball that got the better of Steve Smith:

Smith was adjudged plumb in front on the field and he decided against opting for a review after having a brief chat with his batting partner Travis Head who was standing at the non-striker’s end. However, to Smith’s dismay, the replay displayed that he was struck outside the line of the off-stump and he would have survived the LBW (Leg Before Wicket) scare had he reviewed.

Bumrah has been in superb form in the ongoing World Cup. He has already picked up 20 wickets in 11 games at an impressive average of 17.55 and an economy rate of 3.99, making life difficult for the opposition batters.

India’s playing XI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj


Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna

Support Staff:

Rahul Dravid, Vikram Rathour, Paras Mhambrey, T Dilip

Australia’s playing XI:

Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood


Sean Abbott, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Cameron Green

Support Staff:

Andrew McDonald, Andre Borovec, Daniel Vettori, Michael Di Venuto, Andy Flower

Latest Cricket News

Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment