Virender Sehwag Inducted Into ICC Hall Of Fame Along With Diana Edulji And Aravinda De Silva

Former Indian swashbuckling opener Virender Sehwag has been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. Apart from Sehwag, former Indian women’s team captain Diana Edulji and Sri Lankan legend Aravinda de Silva have also been inducted.

The Hall of Fame, which recognises the achievements of the legends of the game, was launched on January 2, 2009, in partnership with the Federation of International Cricketers Associations (FICA) during the ICC’s centenary year celebrations. The new inductees are presented with a commemorative ICC Cricket Hall of Fame cap. 

An explosive opener, Sehwag was part of the Indian squads that won the 2011 ODI World Cup and the 2007 T20 World Cup. The ‘Nawab of Najafgarh’ played 104 Tests, 251 ODIs and 19 T20Is. He scored 8,586 runs in Tests, with 23 centuries. Sehwag was instrumental in redefining the role of an opener through his fierce approach. The first Indian to hit a triple-century in Tests, Sehwag is also among four players to breach the 300-run mark twice in the long format of the game.

“Virender Sehwag was a game-changer with the bat and the former India opener is now a much-deserved member of the ICC Hall of Fame,” ICC said in a post on X.

After the announcement, Sehwag said, “I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’.”

Diana Edulji: First Indian Woman In ICC Hall Of Fame

Former captain, Edulji is the first Indian woman cricketer in the ICC Hall of Fame. In a career spanning over three decades, Edulji, an orthodox left-arm spinner, played 20 Tests and 34 ODIs. She took 107 wickets across formats.

However, she has made the most impact as an administrator by toiling hard to increase employment opportunities for women cricketers in India.

“It is perhaps off the field that Edulji has had an even greater impact, having played a major role as a trailblazer for India’s women’s cricketers for many decades,” the ICC wrote in a tribute to Edulji.

Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment