Asia Cup 2023 Top Wicket-Takers, Run-Scorers, Updated Points Table After BAN-AFG Asia Cup Match


Asia Cup 2023 Updated Points Table: Shakib-Al-Hasan’s Bangladesh defeated Afghanistan on Sunday by 89 runs in a high-scoring contest at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium, staging a remarkable comeback following initial loss to Sri Lanka. Batting first, Bangladesh scored 334/5 in 50 overs on the back of a 115-run partnership with Mehidy and Najmul Hossain. In reply, Afghanistan batters showed a valiant batting effort, but the ever-increasing run rate never gave them a chance. In the end, Bangladesh registered an emphatic victory.

By virtue of this victory, Bangladesh secured a ticket to Super-4 from Group-B. Afghanistan’s loss to The Tigers has increased difficulties of hosts Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka defeated Bangladesh by five wickets in their first match in Asia Cup 2023, making a strong claim to securing a spot in Super-4, but now Bangladesh has improved its net run rate massively following a thumping win over Afghanistan. Now, a knockout match will be played between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Group-B. The team that wins this match will qualify for the Super-4, while the losing team will get knocked out. 

Let’s have a look at updated Asia Cup 2023 Points Table after Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Asia Cup 2023 match.

Most Runs in Asia Cup 2023

Nazmul Hussain Shanto of Bangladesh (193 runs) has so far scored the most runs in 2023 Asia Cup. Pakistan’s Babar Azam, with a total of 151 runs in 2 matches, holds second spot. At number three is Bangladesh’s Mehdi Hasan Miraj (117 runs from 2 Asia Cup 2023 matches). At the fourth position is Iftikhar Ahmed of Pakistan – 109 runs and number five is our very own Hardik Pandya (87).

Most Wickets in Asia Cup 2023 

Shaheen Shah Afridi (6 wickets in two matches) has managed to take the most wickets in the Asia Cup so far. Pakistan’s Haris Rauf, who has 5 wickets in his name, in number two in this list. Number three is Sri Lanka’s Mathisha Pathirana (4 wickets in 1 match) followed by Pakistan’s Naseem Shah (4 wickets in 2 matches) and Shadab Khan (4 wickets in 2 matches) at number four and five, respectively.


Leave a Comment