Bangladesh’s Mushfiqur Rahim Gets Out In Bizarre Manner Against New Zealand. WATCH


Bangladesh’s veteran batter Mushfiqur Rahim was given out after he obstructed the field during the first day of the second cricket Test against New Zealand. Rahim was playing on a score of 35 when this incident transpired. He was spotted defending a ball of Kyle Jamieson with his willow but once the ball bounced, he used his gloves to keep the ball away. It was illogical for Rahim to use the gloves as the ball seemed to be going away from the stumps.

Moments after the incident, the umpires came together into a hurdle and called the third umpire who eventually gave Rahim out as he obstructed the field. After witnessing this decision, Bangladesh was spotted in a state of bother as Mushfiqur and Shahadat Hossain had built a partnership of 57 runs at that stage with Bangladesh at 104/5. Shahadat was then dismissed 19 runs later.

Obstructing the field law:

As per the MCC rulebook, “The striker is out Obstructing the field if… in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of his/her wicket.”

Talking about the game, the Kiwi spinners Mitchell Santner and Ajaz Patel clinched two wickets each, leaving the hosts struggling at 80-4 at lunch on Wednesday. Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first. They are fighting for their first-ever Test series win over New Zealand. As far as the series is concerned, the Bangla Tigers are leading the two-match series after they sealed victory in the opening game by 150 runs.



Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment