FIDE Candidates Chess 2024: India Players In Action, Schedule, Live Streaming- All You Need To Know


FIDE Candidates Chess 2024: Eight top grandmasters from around the world are all set to compete against each other at the esteemed FIDE Candidates Chess 2024 tournament scheduled to commence in Toronto, Canada from April 4 to 22, 2024. At the end of what had been a remarkable year for Indian chess in 2023, it was also confirmed that as many as five Indians- R Praggnanandhaa, Vidit Gujrathi, D Gukesh, R Vaishali and K Humpy qualified for the Candidates Chess 2024.

It is pertinent to note that the winners of these eight-player events, which are slated to happen in the open and the women’s categories, will have the right to challenge the reigning World Champions for the title. While this happens to be the first time that all the eight-player events is being played at the same venue, it is the Chinese Ding Liren and Ju Wenjun who are the current world title holders.

Indians In Action At the FIDE Chess 2024

Round 1: April 4 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Alireza Firouzja (FRA) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

D. Gukesh (IND) (IND) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Round 2: April 5 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Hikaru Nakamura (USA) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs D Gukesh (IND)

Kateryna Lagno (RUS) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Tan Zhongyi (CHN) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Round 3: April 6 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Nurgyul Salimova (BUL)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Tan Zhongyi (CHN)

Round 4: April 7 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Hikaru Nakamura (USA) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Fabiano Caruana (USA) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

Nurgyul Salimova (BUL) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Round 5: April 9 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs Nijat Abasov (AZE)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs Fabiano Caruana (USA)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Anna Muzychuk (UKR)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS)

Round 6: April 10 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs Hikaru Nakamura (USA)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs Alireza Firouzja (FRA)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Nijat Abasov (AZE)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Kateryna Lagno (RUS)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Lei Tingjie (CHN)

Round 7: April 11 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Fabiano Caruana (USA) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Nijat Abasov (AZE) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Alireza Firouzja (FRA) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

Anna Muzychuk (UKR) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Lei Tingjie (CHN) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Round 8: April 13 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Alireza Firouzja (FRA)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Round 9: April 14 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs Hikaru Nakamura (USA)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Kateryna Lagno (RUS)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Tan Zhongyi (CHN)

Round 10: April 15 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Nurgyul Salimova (BUL) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Tan Zhongyi (CHN) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Round 11: April 17 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Hikaru Nakamura (USA)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs Fabiano Caruana (USA)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Nurgyul Salimova (BUL)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS)

Round 12: April 18 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Nijat Abasov (AZE) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

Fabiano Caruana (USA) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Anna Muzychuk (UKR) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)

Round 13: April 20 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

R. Praggnanandhaa (IND) vs Fabiano Caruana (USA)

Vidit Gujrathi (IND) vs Nijat Abasov (AZE)

D. Gukesh (IND) vs Alireza Firouzja (FRA)

Humpy Koneru (IND) vs Anna Muzychuk (UKR)

Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND) vs Lei Tingjie (CHN)

Round 14: April 21 (14:30 Local time; 12:00 AM IST)

Hikaru Nakamura (USA) vs D. Gukesh (IND)

Alireza Firouzja (FRA) vs Vidit Gujrathi (IND)

Nijat Abasov (AZE) vs R. Praggnanandhaa (IND)

Kateryna Lagno (RUS) vs Vaishali Rameshbabu (IND)

Lei Tingjie (CHN) vs Humpy Koneru (IND)


The Candidates and the Women’s Candidates both will be a double round-robin competition with each player playing the rest of the members twice. There will be a total of 14 rounds. Players will be awarded 1 point for a win, 0.5 point for a draw and 0 points for a defeat.

Time Control

For the Open Category, the time control is 120 minutes for the first 40 moves. Then 30 minutes will be given for the rest of the game. Moreover, there is a 30-second increment for each move, 41st move onwards.

FIDE Chess 2024 Live Streaming Details

FIDE Chess 2024 tournament will be available for Live Streaming on the FIDE YouTube channel. There is no official announcement of whether the FIDE Chess 2024 will be broadcast on Television.


Leave a Comment