IND vs SA Test Series: Abhimanyu Easwaran Replaces ‘Injured’ Ruturaj Gaikwad

SA VS IND Test Series: Uttarakhand-born batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran replaces Chennai Super Kings’ (CSK) star Indian opener Ruturaj Gaikwad in the upcoming two-match Test series against South Africa after the CSK batter endured an injury that has ruled him out of the series. Ruturaj Gaikwad sustained an injury in his right ring finger during second ODI against South Africa, at Port Elizabeth, on December 19 and after undergoing scans, it has been confirmed he’ll be heading to NCA for further treatment. 

The news of the replacement was confirmed by the offcial statement from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

“Mr Ruturaj Gaikwad suffered an injury to his right ring finger while fielding in the second ODI against South Africa in Gqeberha. He underwent scans, and following an expert consultation, the BCCI Medical Team has ruled him out of the remainder of the tour. He will be reporting to the NCA for further management of his injury. The Men’s Selection Committee has named Abhimanyu Easwaran as his replacement,” said BCCI.

Abhimanyu Easwaran is a techically-sound and a stroke player who has shown immense potential in his first-class career and also had a really impressive run in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy, where he amassed 272 runs in merely 4 innings, at a blistering strike rate of 91.28 and an ever-astounding average of 90.67 playing for Bengal. Easwaran has a record of 6567 runs in his 88 first-class matches, averaging 47.24.

With the confirmation of the addition of Abhimanyu Easwaran and departure of Ruturaj Gaikwad, the current roster for the two-match Test series stands like this:

  1. Rohit Sharma (C)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Shreyas Iyer
  6. Abhimanyu Easwaran
  7. Ishan Kishan (wk)
  8. KL Rahul (wk)
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin
  10. Ravindra Jadeja
  11. Shardul Thakur
  12. Mohammad Siraj
  13. Mukesh Kumar
  14. Jasprit Bumrah (VC)
  15. Prasidh Krishna
  16. Akash Deep

India and South Africa begin the test series on the Boxing Day (December 26), at the SuperSport Park, Centurion.


Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment