IPL 2024: List Of Players Injured Or Unavailable For Indian Premier League Season 17


As the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 approaches its opening day, excitement reaches its zenith. Chennai Super Kings (CSK), under the leadership of MS Dhoni, will commence their title defence in the inaugural match against Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB), captained by Faf du Plessis. This thrilling encounter is scheduled to unfold at the legendary MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on March 22 (Friday). Unfortunately there are some names that will miss the cash-rich league owing to unavailability or injury.

 List Of Injured/Unavailable Players And Their Replacements For IPL 2024:

1. Devon Conway (Chennai Super Kings):
   – Star opener Devon Conway, who played a pivotal role in CSK’s victory last year, sustained a thumb injury, ruling him out for eight weeks.
   – Replacement not announced yet.

2. Matheesha Pathirana (Chennai Super Kings):
   – Pathirana suffered a hamstring injury during a T20 series against Bangladesh, sidelining him for 3-4 weeks.
   – Details of replacement pending discussion with Sri Lanka Cricket.

3. Lungi Ngidi (Delhi Capitals):
   – Ngidi remains sidelined due to a lower back injury sustained during a SA20 match.
   – Replacement: Jake Fraser-McGurk.

4. Harry Brook (Delhi Capitals):
   – Brook withdrew from IPL 2024 due to personal reasons.
   – Replacement not finalised yet.

5. Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai Indians):
   – Yet to receive clearance from the National Cricket Academy (NCA), Suryakumar Yadav is set to miss Mumbai’s first match of IPL 2024.
6. Dilshan Madushanka (Mumbai Indians):
   – Madushanka is expected to miss the initial matches due to injury.
   – Replacement: Kwena Maphaka.

7. Jason Behrendroff (Mumbai Indians):
   – Behrendroff’s leg injury will keep him out for the entire IPL season.
   – Replacement: Luke Wood.

8. Mohammed Shami (Gujarat Titans):
   – Shami continues his rehabilitation from ankle surgery and won’t be available for IPL 2024.
   – Replacement: Sandeep Warrier.

9. Robin Minz (Gujarat Titans):
   – Minz suffered a bike accident and it makes him unlikely for IPL 2024.
   – Replacement pending.

10. Prasidh Krishna (Rajasthan Royals):
    – Krishna’s surgery ruled him out for the season.
    – Replacement pending.

11. Jason Roy (Kolkata Knight Riders):
    – Opted out of IPL 2024 due to personal reasons.
    – English wicket-keeper batter Phil Salt to replace him in KKR’s squad.

12. Gus Atkinson (Kolkata Knight Riders):
    – Withdrew from his debut IPL season due to workload management by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).
    – Replaced by Sri Lankan pacer Dushmantha Chameera in the KKR squad.

13. Mark Wood (Lucknow Super Giants):
    – Pulled out of IPL 2024 due to workload management by the ECB.
    – Shamar Joseph named as his replacement for LSG.

14. Matthew Wade (Gujarat Titans):
    – Likely to miss the first two matches of GT due to participation in the Sheffield Shield final for Tasmania.
15. Shreyas Iyer (Kolkata Knight Riders):
    – Uncertain for the start of IPL 2024 due to back issues resurfacing during the Ranji Trophy final.
    – Doubtful starter for KKR in the initial games of the season.


Leave a Comment