SRH vs MI, IPL 2024: Complete List Of Records Broken


The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 fixture between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on March 27 (Wednesday) was a high-scoring feast. Eventually though SRH’s mountain of runs proved too tall a mountain to surpass for MI as they emerged victorious by 31 runs. There were plethora of records that were broken during IPL 2024 match number 8.

SRH batted first in this contest and scored an unprecedented 277/3 in 20 overs, riding on half-centuries from Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma and Heinrich Klaasen. In response, MI too got off to a splendid start with Tilak Varma’s half-century keeping them in the match but eventually fell short despite Tim David’s unbeaten 42* off 22.

Complete List Of Records Broken During IPL 2024 SRH vs MI

Highest Team Total In IPL

277/3 – SRH vs MI in March 2024

263/5 – RCB vs Pune Warriors India in April 2013

257/5 – LSG vs PBKS in April 2023

248/3 – RCB vs Gujarat Lions in May 2016

246/5 – CSK vs RR in April 2010

246/5 – MI vs SRH in March 2024

Highest Aggregate Total In T20s

523 runs – SRH vs MI in March 2024

517 – West Indies vs South Africa in March 2023

515 – Gladiators vs Sultans in March 2023

506 – Surrey vs Middlesex in June 2023

501 – Titans vs Knights in October 2022

Most Number Of Sixes In A T20 Match

38 sixes- SRH vs MI, IPL 2024

37 sixes- Balkh Legends vs Kabul Zwanan, Afghanistan Premier League 2018

37 sixes-  St Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Jamaica Tallawahs, Caribbean Premier League 2019

33 sixes (Previous Best In IPL)

Highest Score For A Team In IPL Run Chase

MI made 246/5 which happened not only to be their highest total in chase but the highest total ever made by a team chasing in the tournament history although it came in a losing cause. The previous biggest score by a team chasing a total in IPL was 226 achieved by Rajasthan Royals against Punjab Kings in IPL 2020.

Joint-Most Boundaries In An IPL Match 

69 boundaries hit during the SRH vs MI contest happens to be the joint most in an IPL match. It equalled the record set during CSK vs RR in Chennai in IPL 2010.

Most Runs Conceded On IPL Debut

MI’s 17-Year-Old Recruit Kwena Maphaka conceded 66 runs from his four overs, to break the record of most runs conceded on IPL debut. Michael Neser against Royal Challengers in 2013 had conceded 62. This also happens to be the joint-third most expensive spell by a bowler in an IPL match.

Fastest Fifty By SRH Batter

Abhishek Sharma got to the landmark off 16 balls. The record was set by Travis Head earlier in the match who got there off 18 balls.

SRH’s Highest-Ever Powerplay Total

SRH accumulated 81 runs at the end of the powerplay against MI, their highest-ever in the IPL. The previous best was 79 runs which they scored against KKR in 2017. 


Leave a Comment