SRH vs MI: Sunrisers Hyderabad emerge victorious in run fest against Mumbai Indians


Image Source : IPL/BCCI SRH players against Mumbai Indians on March 27, 2024

Sunrisers Hyderabad recorded a 31-run win against Mumbai Indians to record their first win of the Indian Premier League 2024 on Wednesday, March 27.

Heinrich Klaasen’s 80* off just 34 balls and quickfire fifties from Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head boosted SRH to a record-breaking IPL total of 277/3 balls and then Mumbai Indians replied by smashing 246/5 to produce the highest match aggregate of 523 in tournament history.

Batters from both teams enjoyed the game as both teams recorded their highest-ever IPL totals today. Five players recorded individual fifties with the help of 38 sixes, the highest number of maximums in IPL match history.

Both teams made major changes to their playing XIs after suffering narrow defeats in their opening IPL 2024 games. Mumbai handed a debut to the 17-year-old Kwena Maphaka while Sunrisers Hyderabad added Travis Head and Jaydev Unadkat to their starting eleven.

Sunrisers Hyderabad enjoyed a sensational start as Travis Head smashed an 18-ball fifty after the team lost Mayank Agarwal early in the fifth over. Travis smashed 62 off just 24 balls before losing his wicket in the eighth over but SRH kept the hammering on by smashing a 16-ball fifty, the fastest-ever for the franchise. 

But it was an unbeaten 116-run stand between Heinrich Klaasen and Aiden Markram for the fourth wicket that boosted SRH to the record total. Klaasen top-scored with 80* off 34 balls and Markram added 42* runs.

Mumbai Indians also replied with a strong start with Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma adding 56 runs for the opening wickets in just 20 balls. Mumbai batters kept the game balanced for the majority of the time but lost their wickets under the pressure of a mammoth target.

Tilak Varma top-scored with 64 off just 34 balls for Mumbai while the Australian big-hitter Tim David added late 42* off 22 runs but the five-time champions struggled to maintain the required run rate in the death overs and fell 31 runs short. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad Playing XI: Travis Head (substituted by Umran Malik), Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat.

Mumbai Indians Playing XI: Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma, Naman Dhir, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Shams Mulani, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Kwena Maphaka (substituted by Romario Shepherd).


Leave a Comment