Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill Delay Arrival In South Africa; No Clarity On Chahar’s Fligt

The Indian team will be playing the first of their three-match T20I series against South Africa on Sunday in Durban. Team India reached South Africa on Wednesday but the likes of Shubman Gill, Deepak Chahar, and vice-captain Ravindra Jadeja are yet to land in the rainbow nation. Gill and Jadeja were asked to take a rest for the five-match T20I series against Australia as they played in the grueling ODI World Cup 2023. Jadeja is enjoying his off time in Europe while Gill is on holiday in the UK.

They will directly join the team in Durban ahead of the first game and are likely to feature in the playing XI. The duo has also been selected in India’s Test squad as well but have been rested for the ODIs.

Meanwhile, Deepak Chahar who has been added to the side to play white ball format has not traveled with the team. Citing medical reasons, he left the Indian team in the middle of the Australia series. As per reports, his father is not well and there is no confirmation as to when Chahar will join the team. Reportedly, the right-arm pacer will be joining the team soon as no repayment has been declared yet by the board.

India’s squad for the T20I series vs South Africa: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for the ODI series vs South Africa: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C, WK), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for the Test series vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Prasidh Krishna.

Discover the writer behind our IPL event blog and their passion for cricket. Learn about their expertise, insights, and unique perspective on the tournament.

Leave a Comment